SOLVED:New Laptop, new install of Ideamaker on a different OS

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
User avatar
jetdillo
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:10 am

SOLVED:New Laptop, new install of Ideamaker on a different OS

Postby jetdillo » Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:48 am

I just got a new laptop and am installing various apps including Ideamaker.
I have a lot of time invested in getting PETG, ASA, Ninjaflex, dialed in for my printer and really don't want to redo all that.
Is there a way to mass-export all my templates from a Mac so I can import them into IM on Windows or Linux ?
Last edited by jetdillo on Mon Oct 01, 2018 4:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Alex M.
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: New Laptop, new install of Ideamaker on a different OS

Postby Alex M. » Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:18 pm

Did you try to copy over your Configuration Folder?
In Ideamaker Go to help>Configuration Folder

I have deleted the existing contents and replaced it on several windows systems to recover / transfer our configurations. Since it's mostly XML along with the Ideamaker ".bin" & ".filament" files, I assume it would work with different OS as well but have never tried.

User avatar
jetdillo
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:10 am

Re: New Laptop, new install of Ideamaker on a different OS

Postby jetdillo » Mon Oct 01, 2018 4:49 am

Alex M. wrote:Did you try to copy over your Configuration Folder?
In Ideamaker Go to help>Configuration Folder

I have deleted the existing contents and replaced it on several windows systems to recover / transfer our configurations. Since it's mostly XML along with the Ideamaker ".bin" & ".filament" files, I assume it would work with different OS as well but have never tried.


I found them on my Mac under:

Code: Select all

/Users/<username>/Library/Application Support/ideaMaker/profile


I copied everything with a .bin onto a USB drive, stuck that in the new Windows machine and copied them off to:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Raise3D\ideaMaker\profile

I then restarted Ideamaker on Windows 10 and all my slicing profiles showed up.
If you have to do this yourself, just remember to replace <username> with your actual username on your system(s).
HTH

Alex M.
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: SOLVED:New Laptop, new install of Ideamaker on a different OS

Postby Alex M. » Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:33 am

Glad to hear it worked Mac to PC as well.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests