Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Discussions about ideaMaker and other printing software.
Shelton
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Shelton » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:23 am

First bug - tune menu at new Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151, you need to wait after value changing few seconds if you switch menu faster and escape to main value will be not stored in memory. My machine Raise PRO 2 PLUS.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3950
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:47 pm

As far as I see, it just takes time to store the changes into memory. It will jump to previous values the moment you input the new values. But wait for a few seconds, it will jump to new values.

Shelton
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Shelton » Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:51 pm

Sometimes didn’t and you need input again. For example you input lower temp. And values changes after few sec than back to default... and you need repeat it.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 3950
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:57 pm

Even wait for a few seconds, it won't jump to the new value?
I just did a try on our printer, change the nozzle temperature to be lower. OK and back to Tune page, it will jump back to previous value at the first moment, then two seconds after, it will jump to new value.

Shelton
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Shelton » Fri Aug 03, 2018 6:04 pm

I need to check the delay, maybe depends on data processing. But heating bead and nozzle at once. Perfect.

EldRick
Posts: 307
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:55 am

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby EldRick » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:28 pm

Sounds like the delay between raisetouch sending the new setting and the motion control Marlin feeding back the new temp.

Shelton
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Shelton » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:55 pm

Ok works good but... if your machine start to printing at preheating stage you can’t change temp value. Only when printing start. Than you need to input value.

Jetguy
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Jetguy » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:39 am

Tip, read this topic, understand the basic starting gcode at the start of every print you ever make, understand the front panel does not directly control the printer, it is simply a command console.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10031&p=34469&hilit=m109#p34469

Shelton
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Shelton » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:57 am

I’m reporting from customer level only. So the issue is that machine need to start printing to change values. You can do it before but without success.

Jetguy
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Jetguy » Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:16 am

Shelton wrote:I’m reporting from customer level only. So the issue is that machine need to start printing to change values. You can do it before but without success.

https://www.simplify3d.com/support/arti ... -tutorial/
The M109 command will actually wait until the desired temperature is reached before allowing any other commands to run. For this reason, you will always see an M109 in your gcode files, as this allows the extruder to reach the necessary temperature before the print begins.
So, if you attempt to change a temp while an M109 command is executing on the motion control board, that command will not take action until the M109 completes (the extruder reaches the previously commanded temperature).
I repeat, M109 is a REQUIRED command that in the start of every gcode print file you will likely ever run and as a limitation of how that command functions- NO, you will not be able to send more commands and have them take action immediately.

This is actually double, because there is also the same style of heat and wait until heated for the heated bed.
The M190 command will wait until the bed temperature is reached before allowing any other commands to run. Keep in mind that the heated bed on your printer may take several minutes to reach elevated temperatures. So don’t be surprised if you see your printer pausing while waiting on an M190 command to finish heating the bed. Because this process can take a long time, it may be a good idea to start heating the bed at the beginning of your routine using an M140 command, which would allow you to do other actions such as homing or nozzle purging while the bed is still pre-heating. Just make sure to include an M190 before the print begins, as the bed temperature can be an important factor for first layer adhesion.
Again, every print you ever make with a heated bed enabled is going to include the M190 command.

Jetguy
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Jetguy » Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:35 am

Again, as a new user and owner of this machine, it's important you understand how, at the most basic level, your printer you bought and paid for works and what standard and expected limitations are true for 3D printing in general.

You bought a printer that has a wonderful touch screen interface, but as a limitation of that interface, it is NOT directly controlling the 3D printer. This is because again, this is a 2 board and 2 firmware based system, where the normal industry standard gcode command structure and all the limitations or functions present exist. The front panel sends the command and waits for replies. The actual controller and firmware running the printer is like every other 3D printer on the market. As such, there is a limitation that commands on the LCD control panel are not instantaneous. This is true of any other system using this architecture. Examples are using Octoprint and any other printer, or Astroprint, or any other gcode streaming front end server to talk over a serial console connection to a 3D printer running common 3D printing motion control firmware (marlin, repetier, or dozens of others). This is especially true when blocking commands like M109 and M190 are executing (wait for temp to reach setpoint and not just reach setpoint, but stabilized at the setpoint for a given time period). During that time, no other command is executed. Since these are standard and expected commands at the start of the print, user commands all except an emergency stop are waiting for the command to complete.

Jetguy
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Jetguy » Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:48 am

The bigger question, why are some of you users so bent on sending a command just after starting a print job?
This is just pure and simple user error.
Either you failed to properly slice the print file with the correct temperature settings or loaded the wrong filament compared to the print file settings. You generally should have no reason for user input right at the start of a job, that's why the starting sequence of a print is automated, so what are you doing so wrong that you immediately have to change a setting that should be part of the automatic starting sequence of a print job?

Again, you started a job, there are automated blocking commands that wait until complete, as such, there are small periods of time at the start of every print where yes, you cannot change values until the task completes. This is expected and known and an inherit function of 3D printing in general, not just the Raise3D, but does manifest in a way that makes it very obvious the front panel touch controls are not directly controlling the printer. It's not a bug- that's how it works and likely will work for a long time.

Shelton
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Shelton » Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:17 am

No. This is not error. Sometimes you need to change some parameters in the fly, sometimes is also easy to forget. This is the human thing. We are human not robots mate. Especially if you do many tasks at once.

Jetguy
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:40 am
Location: In a van, down by the river

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Jetguy » Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:18 pm

Bottom line is this:
This is not a "bug" against this firmware version or any other version.
It's a known limitation of the machine architecture.
The machine worked this way before you ever updated the firmware to 0.9.11.6151

Shelton
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Shelton » Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:21 pm

You have right. We must live with it.

EldRick
Posts: 307
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:55 am

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby EldRick » Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:31 pm

I always manually preheat the bed to 2C above the desired temperature before starting a print. While that is happening, I also preheat the nozzle to 150C or so, so it gets up to operating temp sooner when I actually print.
This way I'm in control of the time, instead of sitting around waiting for the printer to get it done, and I can heat both bed and nozzle at the same time.

Shelton
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Raise Touch 0_9_11_6151 some fixes

Postby Shelton » Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:34 pm

Good tips mate.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests