bedplate leveling dial indicator

Thoughts about Raise3D, 3D printing and making in general.
dmtulsa

bedplate leveling dial indicator

Postby dmtulsa » Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:59 pm

Has anyone designed a part to hold a dial indicator so the bedplate level can be measured correctly? Zip ties just don't work. I'm designing one that attaches to the fan bolts. So far it works but it's a work in progress. Couple more days of testing.

Also designing bedplate clamps as the paper binder clamps just don't do the job. Every failure I've had was do to the bedplate glass moving during print. On my 5th redesign but its looking good and simple to use. I'll post the final designs when I'm done.

I'm new to this as you can probably tell. I figured these two items are basic to getting a good print. If the printer isn't setup correctly then can't expect good results. My N2 's bed plate was out of level up to .021 when I received it. I thought the max was .+-001 so that's way out.
maybe I'm being picky, that comes after 30 years of engineering work. Retired now so I can play and have all the time in the world. I come from a EE / Software engineering background so the mechanical and CAD side is a bit different. I've settled on FreeCAD for design, I have Autocad but I just like FreeCAD better plus Linux is my goto PC OS as I stay away from Windows as much as possible. Maybe Autodesk will produce a linux version like they do with Eagle PCB software.

Anyway it's nice to join the group

dial2.jpg
Bracket mounted in fan position
cad_image.JPG
Bracket image in freeCAD
Dial2.stl
.stl
(84.46 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Last edited by dmtulsa on Thu Jun 21, 2018 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dmtulsa

Re: bedplate leveling dial indicator

Postby dmtulsa » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:06 am