Poorly Designed Hotend on Pro2

Thoughts about Raise3D, 3D printing and making in general.
Hellsbellsidaho

Poorly Designed Hotend on Pro2

Postby Hellsbellsidaho » Wed May 16, 2018 1:53 am

I have had my Pro2 for two weeks and it has worked great up to a few days ago and I got a clogged right extruder. I had to remove the right hot end to clear the clog and that's when I realized how poorly it was designed. Very little thought was put into the design of the hot end. I am an engineer and if I had design it I would quit my job and become a greeter at Walmart.

Jetguy

Re: Poorly Designed Hotend on Pro2

Postby Jetguy » Wed May 16, 2018 2:13 am

How about some pictures of what details you found?

That's kind of the problem, those of us who would take pictures and explain it, aren't buying this printer.

jon_bondy

Postby jon_bondy » Wed May 16, 2018 11:30 am

I, too, would appreciate a more specific explanation about what you found and how you would change the design.

newraiseuser

Postby newraiseuser » Wed May 16, 2018 12:11 pm

On the Pro2, can you change to the Bontech extruder?

Jetguy

Postby Jetguy » Wed May 16, 2018 4:43 pm

newraiseuser wrote:On the Pro2, can you change to the Bontech extruder?

It is already a Bondtech extruder, but really, that's just a feeder.
Pro_filament detector.jpg

The key here is terminology.
Technically, an extruder is a system of components working together.
You have the motor and feeder assembly that grips the filament and pushes it into the extruder.
Then you have the hotend assembly that really is also multiple components of the throat tube (AKA thermal barrier tube), heatsink, heater block, heater cartridge or rod, thermocouple temp sensor, and last the nozzle. As an additional part, there is the required cooling fan to blow air through the heatsink.