Major Layer Shifting

Thoughts about Raise3D, 3D printing and making in general.
Romanazzi96

Major Layer Shifting

Postby Romanazzi96 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:28 am

Hi there,

Im new to the 3D printing world and I purchased a n2 plus a few months ago and have had it running practically every day since, learning things through trial and error as i go, but I'm stuck with a big issue i can't seem to figure out. I keep having major layer shifting on my tall prints, roughly about 15 hours in every time. After messing up quite a few prints I've narrowed it down to whats going on. The print Nozzle seems to be hitting the print and getting stuck causing the belts to skip and throwing everything out of calibration. This happens on the X axis every time. Im not sure if the print bed sticks at a certain point or whats going on but i can't figure it out. ill attach a few pictures, if you look close you will see where the nozzle hit the print and stuck to it. Some one please help!
Attachments
IMG_0857.JPG
IMG_0856.JPG
IMG_5079.JPG
IMG_4786.JPG

Casale8

Re: Major Layer Shifting

Postby Casale8 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:22 pm

Have you lubricated your shafts?
-SCC
“One man's "magic" is another man's engineering. "Supernatural" is a null word.” -R.A.Heinlein

Tinkerer

Postby Tinkerer » Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:55 pm

Do you print using just one nozzle?
If so, it is a good idea to put lift second (right) nozzle up.

Another thing you can try is to use the "Z-Hop"-function.
You'll find that on the "Extruder" Tab after you clicked "Advanced" in the slicing settings.
I have found some 0.05mm to be enough most of the times.

One reason could be that your printed material expands over time - what are you using?
...there's nothing like the smell of fresh ABS in the morning...

Romanazzi96

Postby Romanazzi96 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:24 am

Casale8 wrote:Have you lubricated your shafts?

I Haven't lubricated the shafts they still seem to have grease on them

Romanazzi96