AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Korni » Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:13 pm

Hello,

can it damage the Pro2 when it is switched over the FRITZ!DECT 200 https://en.avm.de/products/fritzdect/fritzdect-200/ socket instead of the on / off switch?

THX
Pro2+ Image

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:27 am

It may bring issues, as it will direct cut the power off without going through the original power switch with fuse instead. It may kill the fuse in power switch if you do it frequently and can lead to potential damage to the power supply.

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Korni » Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:48 am

OK.

Which top designer has designed the on / off switch DOWN on the BACKSIDE ..... ??? :-(
Pro2+ Image

Lorenzo
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:32 am

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Lorenzo » Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:03 am

I agree that the on/off switch is in a bad location, but I don't see a better one from the get go. On the sides it may be inadvertently pushed while operating and I believe the on/off switch is part of the stock power supply, much like the one in personal computers.

Kind regards,

Lorenzo

jean-claude
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby jean-claude » Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:41 am

jean-claude wrote:Tue Nov 21, 2017
… I have a simple question : Is flip the power switch to off is equal to removing the powerplug from the powerwall socket ?
Thanks

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Wed Nov 22, 2017
Yes, you can directly unplug the power plug to cut off the power, works the same as flip the power switch.

And now :
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:It may bring issues, as it will direct cut the power off without going through the original power switch with fuse instead. It may kill the fuse in power switch if you do it frequently and can lead to potential damage to the power supply.

I take it that there is a difference there too (n2-Pro) and that it is another reason not to change my machine. This feature of being able to turn it on and off remotely is very convenient.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Noren » Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:27 am

I have used the Elgato Eve since day one with my printer. Never any problem.

jean-claude
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby jean-claude » Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:07 am

Yes me too on my N2+ (CHACON 3012 is "same" device) !
I do not understand the problem what particular feature would have the switch included in the power of the PRO not to cause the problem that is mentioned?

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Noren » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:34 pm

Using these devices are like actually just pulling the plug. And that’s usually not good for electronics. . But since the on/off switch at the back of the printer is mechanical and basically does the same. I think that Raise3D is worried you might blow a fuse. But on the other hand this printer is built to cope with loss of power so it should be able to handle it.

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Korni » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:51 pm

Noren wrote:..... But on the other hand this printer is built to cope with loss of power so it should be able to handle it.


Exactly .... and therefore I do not understand the concerns.
Pro2+ Image

jean-claude
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby jean-claude » Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:49 pm

Noren wrote:Using these devices are like actually just pulling the plug. And that’s usually not good for electronics.

Yes, it's the same thing ! and in most cases the same switch !
And Yes : with electronics the risk is when in switch on or switch off phase, but you have to switch ;)

jean-claude
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby jean-claude » Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:52 pm

Korni wrote:Exactly .... and therefore I do not understand the concerns.


it's just not to take risks
but no risk no money :D :D :D

JamesW
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:54 pm

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby JamesW » Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:42 am

Is there something that Raise3D would recommend?
...please....?

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Jul 14, 2018 10:50 pm

jean-claude wrote:
jean-claude wrote:Tue Nov 21, 2017
… I have a simple question : Is flip the power switch to off is equal to removing the powerplug from the powerwall socket ?
Thanks

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Wed Nov 22, 2017
Yes, you can directly unplug the power plug to cut off the power, works the same as flip the power switch.

And now :
Vicky@Raise3D wrote:It may bring issues, as it will direct cut the power off without going through the original power switch with fuse instead. It may kill the fuse in power switch if you do it frequently and can lead to potential damage to the power supply.

I take it that there is a difference there too (n2-Pro) and that it is another reason not to change my machine. This feature of being able to turn it on and off remotely is very convenient.


The power switch of N2 and Pro2 are the same.
We think that for urgent use, unplug the power cable or cutting off power directly from powerplug for urgent use was fine. As by years working with N series printers, we only met few cases with dead fuse due to power off issue.
But out of safety, we recommend to power off the printer by power switch for daily use.

jean-claude
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:11 pm

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby jean-claude » Sun Jul 15, 2018 7:56 am

JamesW wrote:Is there something that Raise3D would recommend?
...please....?

:D
As I think I understood : In daily use, only the switch provided by RAISE.
But, just my two (€) cents: you can order a 5 Axis ROBOT that will push on the switch of your RAISE. (take a look at www.kuka.com) You could save a fuse every 5 years.
Or, then, but that I do not recommend because it is not authorized by RAISE and you lose the precious guarantee: you replace the fuse by a resettable model (breaker).
Or, without respect for the planet and your wallet, leave it on all the time except in case of fire of course! In this case, you can remove the wall socket directly.

But, as a reminder, others than me, use a wall socket on / off WIFI without problem from the beginning.
I hope it helps you.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: AVM FRITZ!DECT 200 ?

Postby Noren » Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:30 am

What I don’t get is why we still don’t have any kind of standby/sleep mode that turns off everything that can be turned off. Lights/fans/heatbed/motors.


Return to “Pro2 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest