Change XYZ Home Position

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Korni » Tue Oct 02, 2018 6:48 am

Hello,

I would like to permanently change the HOME position. The Pro2 + should approach a (especially) different XY position before and after a print job.
He should not always go to the front left but about 40mm away.
Is this possible and if so, how?

Thank you
Pro2+ Image

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4305
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:39 pm

May I ask the reason why you want to set the Home position to be 40,40? If nozzle purge at 40,40 before print start, the purge filament will be extruded on print bed with limit gap between nozzle and build plate and may clog the nozzle.

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Korni » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:27 pm

No probably expressed myself wrong ...

I just want to "park" AFTER a print about 40-50mm (X&Y) from the home position (front left corner) and 100mm (Z) in height.
The printer should NOT move to the left front corner and only a few mm away from the print bed after printing. This also makes it easier for me (handicap) to level the Z-axis.
Is this harmful for the printer or makes the print start problematic?

Thank you

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
Pro2+ Image

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4305
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:29 pm

I didn't fully get your point. May I double ask the reason why you want the extruder to move to a few distance away from original point? What does level the Z axis mean?

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Korni » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:43 am

Because I installed a cover device & additional fan and it gets too tight when the printer goes back to the left front corner, satisfied ?! ;-) It would be better if it stopped several millimeters before.
IMG_7547.JPG
Pro2+ Image

Shelton
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Shelton » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:39 am

Koni has right. For example, if you change the bed plate for Buildtak flexplate, you need to glue it at the middle of the heat plate. Flexplate is narrower than factory plate, so you have each side ugly gap.


Is not possible to do it with super precision. So you need to adjust it. Very simple.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4305
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:38 pm

Because of the modification, you don't want the extruder to go the actual home position any more? It will be hard to guarantee the repeated positioning precision if the directions are not going to be reset to be 0 any more.

Shelton's concern is able to be solved by editing global offset, but after print complete, the extruder will still physically go to home position. Setting global offset will ask the extruder not print in the several mm area from home position as set.

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Korni » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:47 am

Vicky@Raise3D wrote:Because of the modification, you don't want the extruder to go the actual home position any more? ......

Correct. But only directly after the end of printing. When I then select "Home" on the display he should go back to the normal home position to position himself "0".
Pro2+ Image

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4305
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:55 pm

If you only want extruder to go some specific area after printing, you can edit End Gcode to achieve.

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Korni » Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:14 pm

Well, could someone tell the right end Gcode and the right position where it needs to be inserted ??????????

X 50mm, Y 50mm, Z 100mm (away from the absolute home position=front left)

THX
Pro2+ Image

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Korni » Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:36 pm

Is this correct ???

ORGINAL
Orginal.png



Modifyed
Modifyed.png
Pro2+ Image

Shelton
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:34 pm

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Shelton » Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:30 pm

The problem is that you need to reach end optical sensor to home printing head... but the Global offset is perfect to show where starts and ends bed plate... correct?

So we have two options here, Vicky:
Zrzut ekranu 2018-10-19 o 21.25.28.jpg

Zrzut ekranu 2018-10-19 o 21.25.06.jpg


What is the difference between?!

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4305
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:40 am

Just notice that editing End Gcode may not help. The touchscreen will still ask the extruder to go original position after all codes being completely processed.

User avatar
Korni
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Change XYZ Home Position

Postby Korni » Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:58 pm

Hmmmhhhh so is a user unfriendly system well :-(
Pro2+ Image


Return to “Pro2 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest