First layer not sticking

mnew

First layer not sticking

Postby mnew » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:52 pm

Hi

I am a newbie to Raise3D. Very impressed with the quality of the build of the product.
I have a problem that some prints don't 'stick' to the base, is there something to watch for? Most are fine just on occastions it does not work. This also seems to cause the ititial 'purge pile' to not stck and then be dragged into the print area.

Vicky@Raise3D

Re: First layer not sticking

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:27 am

Do you always use the same filament or not? Do you always print with Raft or not?
Does the not sticking issue happen in different areas on bed or always similar areas?

For the "purge pile", you can enable skirt. Then there will have an extra circle printed out of the model before starting the real model printing.

mnew

Postby mnew » Sat Jul 28, 2018 8:46 am

Currently just using the white PLA that came with the printer and always printing in the same area.
I will try enabling 'skirt'

Some print jobs seem fine

mnew

Postby mnew » Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:10 pm

when the print head does its 'purge' at the begining of the print, sometimes the 'blob' does not stick and gets dragged into the print area. This then causes the job to fail so you have to watch for this. Is there a way of improoving the sucess rate of this process?

Vicky@Raise3D

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Aug 03, 2018 12:57 am

Enable the skirt. Then the purge filament will be stuck onto the skirt instead of your model.

mnew

Postby mnew » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:14 am

Thanks Vicky

mnew

Postby mnew » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:38 am

Tried that but when the 'blog' is dragged to the skirt the head can hit it and can cause problems with the print :(

DS2017

Postby DS2017 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:15 pm

mnew wrote:Tried that but when the 'blog' is dragged to the skirt the head can hit it and can cause problems with the print :(