X-Offset on Print

SchMax
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:02 pm

X-Offset on Print

Postby SchMax » Thu Sep 06, 2018 5:55 am

hello@all!

i wanted to print the Top Cover from Thingiverse
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1324935

i tried to print it two times, unfortunately there was a offset in X-Axis both times. it looked like the X-Motor was too fast (seen on the top right of the photo). also only the long rods, placed diagonal on the printbed seem to be influenced by that.

other prints until now worked fine.
i tried an other print now, and it works fine as well.

Printer - Pro2
Ideamaker - 3.1.7.1850
Raise3D Pro2
Flashforge Finder


3D Printing of Architecture Models

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:24 pm

Would you like to attach a picture to show the print failure? It may can help people here to analysis.
Does the issue only happen at X direction?
Would you like to home the extruder in X Y direction then use screen to move it to center point? Then try to move the extruder manually gently with motors enabled to see whether it is movable or not.
If so, there may have something wrong with your coupler.

SchMax
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby SchMax » Fri Sep 07, 2018 6:08 am

yes only X direction - see in the photo at the end of the two rods...

extruder is not movable (only like half a milimeter because of the lash of the belts).
Attachments
2018-09-06 07.32.36.jpg
Raise3D Pro2
Flashforge Finder


3D Printing of Architecture Models

SchMax
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby SchMax » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:16 am

i have new findings:

today i installed the flexplate system by buildtak (for those wondering - installation worked lika a charm) and started a print with a max.-sized cube, just to test if all is in the right position.

after the outer perimeters it started with the 45° 1st bottom layer.
as you can see from the photo - the printer startet with 0° and worked its way up to 45°.
i think the overextrution is also created by this problem because the printhead went a lot of times over the same spot.

whats the problem there an how can i fix it?
Attachments
2018-09-07 10.14.43.jpg
Raise3D Pro2
Flashforge Finder


3D Printing of Architecture Models

DragonXtreme
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:46 pm

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby DragonXtreme » Fri Sep 07, 2018 12:43 pm

I think this also applies to the Pro 2, I have a N2+, you can not actually print the full 12" (305mm) x 12" (305mm) X/Y, even though the build plate is 13" X x 13.5" Y. Per my conversation with support as well as trial and error the travel of the extruder is physically limited by it's travel capabilities as well as 0,0 is located at the edge of the build plate. On my N2+ that location of 0,0 is actually -.1, -.1 so if I try to print max size it starts off the build plate completely.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Sat Sep 08, 2018 2:06 am

Do you mean that max print space of left and right nozzle are located at different position on build plate?
It is because that there has 25mm physical offset between the two nozzles.

And what DragonXtreme should be less influence on Pro2 instead of N series, as Pro2 stops using clips to hold the print plate.

DragonXtreme
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:46 pm

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby DragonXtreme » Sun Sep 09, 2018 3:12 am

Vicky, I do not not think from what I have seen that Raise3D changed the frame components from the N2 to the Pro, it would require new injected mold parts at a hefty price. Yes the clips were removed in the Pro2 which eliminated that interference but the plate location doesn't look like it moved. You can correct me if I am wrong. Based on his picture of the start point of his print it looks better than the N2+ plus it is still way to far X where X 0 is still at the edge of the plate but Y may have changed either by moving the proximity switch to it's benefit as Y had the most available movement verses X.

If he had printed from the right nozzle X would have been an inch away from the edge while Y stayed the same.

I agree that the Pro 2 build plate does have less limitations to the N2+ but I do not see that the corrections to design were made in the release of the Pro 2 that would have corrected the build volume and the actual 0,0 location, especially in X. Again, please correct me if I am wrong. In a perfect world the 0,0 of the Pro 2 and what should have been on the N2+ would have been .5" X and .75" Y based on the actual physical dimensions of the build plate. You would still have a 12" x 12" build volume with one nozzle that was located true dead center of the physical plate. It would have limited the range of the 2nd nozzle but in it's current configuration it limits more and causes more issues than its solved. In it's current configuration the 12" x 12" base volume is generally not attainable with a single extruder.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:33 am

Based on all the customer complain about a few mm offset of the original point on N series printers, which can only be solved by moving the build plate, we have done some improvement on Pro2 series.
For all the Pro2 printers, we calibrate the original point to be inside the build plate.
If the Pro2 printer is in very early batches, which by now the max offset we have met has around 1-2mm out of bed X direction which is adjusted with loosing the two fixing screws underneather the sliding block which are fixing the trigger plate.

SchMax
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby SchMax » Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:24 am

i really don't understand everything thats discussed right know - but i think you are all talking about different things that i originally ment.
please read my firts posts..

i'm basically talking about the infill pattern not beeing 45° at the start. sometimes the print gets offset during printing. see the photos.

thanks!
Raise3D Pro2
Flashforge Finder


3D Printing of Architecture Models

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:34 pm

May I have your gcode file to take a look?

SchMax
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby SchMax » Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:56 am

How can i send it to you?

as i mentioned - the first print was from thingiverse, and the other one was just a cube sized up to max.
Raise3D Pro2
Flashforge Finder


3D Printing of Architecture Models

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:07 pm

You can upload the compressed files here, gcode and data files, pelase.
Sorry for the inconvenience, I just want to check out your slicing and settings.

User avatar
Noren
Posts: 385
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Borås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby Noren » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:09 pm

I’m thinking you might have the wrong size printbes setup in your printer settings.

SchMax
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby SchMax » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:21 am

here you go (didn't knew i could upload files as well :roll: )
Attachments
modcoverremix3.zip
(4.2 MiB) Downloaded 1 time
20mm_Calibration_Box.zip
(1.3 MiB) Downloaded 1 time
Raise3D Pro2
Flashforge Finder


3D Printing of Architecture Models

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:34 pm

Would you like to check the coupler?
Open the side door and you can find a motor above the spool holders. Between the rod and motor, there has a coupler worked as a connection between. Move the extruder around to check whether the has any defects on the coupler.

Or open a support ticket to reach our technicians at http://help.raise3d.com.

SchMax
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby SchMax » Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:15 pm

i don't exactly know which part you mean by coupler?

oh i just googled it - i don't see any obvious problems with the coupler
Raise3D Pro2
Flashforge Finder


3D Printing of Architecture Models

KS_Husker
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:32 am

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby KS_Husker » Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:26 pm

Sometimes it is really hard to see, they can split in the thin areas and you can barely see it. But it's there. I've seen this before and had a similar issue with my prints as what you are seeing. With the power off if you have access to the coupler you could try to spin one end of the coupler by hand, and hold the other end or the shaft it is connected to fixed and see if there is play, if so, it is broken.

User avatar
Vicky@Raise3D
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:54 am

Re: X-Offset on Print

Postby Vicky@Raise3D » Tue Sep 18, 2018 11:27 pm

You can also try move the extruder to center position on screen to enable the both side of motors. And try to move the extruder manually to see whether it can be moved or not.


Return to “Pro2 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests